Posted in book addict, book review, book series, hooked on books, series review

Book Series Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children By Ranson Riggs

I started reading this series after I watched the movie in theaters back in 2016. The movie peaked my interest enough to start reading the books, and I’m so glad, because I really enjoyed the first three books (Home For Peculiar Children, Hollow City, and Library of Souls). Though, I thought that was the end of the series, because the way book three ended, it seemed like a good place to stop things.

A few years later, I was browsing in a library, and was tickled pink when I stumbled across book 4: A Map Of Days. I grabbed it off the shelf and eagerly went home to to read it. And the way book 4 ended, I knew 5 was in the works, because it left the story on a pretty huge cliffhanger. So I waited patiently for Conference of the Birds, which of course was as fantastic as the other books. And then yesterday, I finally finished the series reading book 6: The Desolations of Devil’s Acre.

I have to say there isn’t any feeling quite like the one being hooked on a good series. The anticipation of what will happen next, and the excitement of knowing some of your favorite characters are coming back to dish up a great read. So when I finished Devil’s Acre, I was a little sad that the series was done. But also completely satisfied, because Riggs delivered a very good wrap up for his six book series (man, I love it when that happens!).

Ransom Riggs dished up a fun, exciting, and darkly twisted story that delighted and left me in shocked horror more than once. The best part was the absolute weirdness of his world. Some of the stuff he came up with was absolutely impossible, but he made it believable for his story, and that, I think, was his crowning achievement. He took weird (peculiar) and made it cool, fun, and causing me wish I was a little peculiar too.

Book one begins with Jacob Portman who’s a teen just trying to find out more about his recently departed grandfather that dies under quite mysterious conditions. Jacob quickly realizes that most of his grandfather’s life is a mystery, and that he barely knew much about the man besides the fact that Abraham Portman seemed more than a little crazy at times. But when Jacob stumbles upon a loop out of time where children with strange abilities live, he discovers that maybe his grandfather wasn’t as crazy as he was led to believe.

This series follows Jacob Portman and the wards of Miss Peregrine as they dash through time and history to stop a terrible evil from destroying peculiardom and the world as they know it. They use their peculiar abilities to stop monsters and madmen, while navigating through some of the most dangerous historic events ever known.

Throughout the series Ransom also uses old photos that he weaves expertly into the story to create more weirdness and fascination that is delightful and sometimes quite comical. It’s a truly creative way to add more depth and character to an already great story, while providing a little comic relief from all the high octane action and devastating setbacks Jacob and his friends endure.

If you like humor, weirdness, monsters, history, daring exploits of heroism, and dark, twisted plots against humankind (peculairkind), then check out this series. It’s a fantastic read that will stay with you long after you finish.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s